Events and Programs

2019 Fall Season




View the Author Lineup

Battle of the Books • PoetryWorkshops • Front Street Writers • Scholarship Winners • Writing Workshops • Teaching Jobs

Raising Writers

Support and Thank you

Official Airport Sponsor

Click to Visit Sponsor Site

Learn About

How to Support

We Love Our Supporters


Thank You

Authors we’ve hosted

Look Who’s Been Here 


Elmore Leonard

Peter Leonard



Rhonda Janzen

Tom Brokaw

Thomas Lynch

Mary Karr

Audrey Niffenegger

Mario Batali

James Bradley

Peter Mattheissen

Karl Marlantes


Janet Leahy

Lisa Albert

Sara Brokaw

Mitch Albom

Paula McLain

Bonnie Jo Campbell

Jack Driscoll

Michael Zadoorian

Roy Blount Jr.

Sebastian Junger

Richard Ford

Elmore Leonard

Daniel Silva

Gretchen Holt Witt

Tom Perrotta

Jeffrey Eugenides

David Sedaris

Chuck Klosterman



Vince Gilligan

Jodi Picolt

Geraldine Brooks

Michael Sandel

Anna Quindlen

Susan Casey

Natalie Bakapoulos

Janet Evanovich

Lee Child

Maggie Stiefvater

Ayaan Hirsi Ali

Benjamin Busch

Michael Connelly



Chip Johannessen

Buzz Bissinger

Blaine Harden

Gillian Flynn

Nathaniel Philbrick

Jason Matthews

Colum McCann

Temple Grandin

Mitch Albom

Benjamin Percy

Michael Paterniti

Jamie Ford

David Finkel

Nikki Giovanni

Sara Paretsky



Kelly Corrigan

George Packer

Steve Luxenberg

Anchee Min

Emily Giffin

Daniel James Brown

Karin Slaughter

Greg Holmes

Katherine Roth

Diana Gabaldon

A.J. Baime

Bryce Hoffman

Nancy Horan

Sophie Kinsella

Rita Mae Brown

Brian Castner

Brian Turner



Tess Gerristen

Garth Stein

Debbie Macomber

Jeff Shaara

Harlan Coben

Hampton Sides

Mardi Link

Vanessa Diffenbaugh

Ben Sidran

Bonnie Jo Campbell

Paula McLain

Sarah Chayes

Susan Casey

John. U. Bacon



James Rollins

James Tobin

Tui Sutherland

Laurie R. King

Brian Castner

David Ebershoff

Lucy Kalanithi

Jim and Lynn Kouf

Paola Gianturco

David Maraniss

Margaret Atwood

Ann Patchett

Jodi Picoult

Kyle Mills

Daniel Bergner



John Donovan

Beth Macy

Gordon Korman

Greg lles

Eric Fair

Elizabeth Strout

Andrea Petersen

Mary Roach

Julia Glass

Bruce Cameron

Doug Stanton

Alice Waters

Terry McDonell

Dan Gerber

Murray Howe

Sebastian Junger

Phil Caputo



Doug Stanton

Peter Heller

Nikki Giovanni

Peter Brown

Anna Quindlen

Drew Philp

Eileen McNamera

Samantha Irby

David Grann

Richard Russo

Adriana Trigiani

Annie Spence

Beth Macy

Mona Hanna-Attisha

Joe Hill

Amy Goldstein

Tayari Jones

Alice Walker

Richard Clarke

John U. Bacon



Jen Sincero

Tommy Tomlinson

More to come….

Here’s What They Said

David Sedaris

“Traverse is French for  ‘cross.’ Not as in, ‘I think I can cross the National Writers Series off my list,’ but rather, ‘I’d cross the US on my knees for another fine day at the National Writers Series.”

Colum McCann

“Traverse City wrung my tired soul out. I got a chance to spend some time with the young writers of tomorrow, part of the National Writers Series, and then I read in the magnificent old Opera House. All the ghosts of the past and the voices of the future in one...

Gillian Flynn

“The National Writers Series is a consistently fun, smart, and warm gathering for book lovers—whether they be readers or writers or both. It’s one of my favorites.”

Media and About

Past Media

Watch & Listen

See Us

In the News

Find Out More

About Us